In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A few countries are suffering from an increasing number incidents of shooting because many people possess guns at their home. In my opinion, I believe that easy access to weapons encourages its utilization but local surrounding also plays a crucial role.

To begin with, laws which allow keeping firearms are the key reason behind its increasing usage because of its easy accessibility; people do not even have second thought before firing it. Even though, the governments license it for individual security purposes, it creates more harm than good. Besides, there are a lot of situations where it could have been handled well if a gun was not there in the picture. Take for an example where a kid in the USA used a shotgun to teach a lesson to a bully and ended up killing him. Even mindset of people is getting too violent these days due to excessive exposure to video games, such as Counter strike that is totally based on killing people. Thus, laws should be made strict to discourage its usage.

However, Guns are not always to blame because sometime times it’s the surrounding environment and upbringing that also plays key role in producing criminal minds. For example, social discriminating culture, especially racism, often encourages people towards anti-social activities. There are countries with the highest gun possession but still with the lowest crime rate, such as Iceland where a person have to justify its every usage. So, authorities should ensure training regarding the consequences of weapon usage before handing gun to their citizen.

In conclusion, unrestricted access to firearms contributes a lot to increase in fatal shootings but surrounding atmosphere plays its role too. In the future, situation will only get worse if it is not restricted with strict rules.