In some countries, the quality of life in larger cities is declining.

Why do you think this is happening? What measures can be taken to stop it.

Although bitter, but it must be admitted that the standard of living in big cities is deteriorating. This is mainly because of the lack of socializing among urban people and issues caused due to over-population. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the problem of degrading life in big urban cities.

Focusing on the reasons, the foremost argument for degrading life in urban areas is that interaction among young people is on fall. Urban dwellers fail to communicate efficiently with their neighbours and friends, which in turn create a sense of insecurity among individuals. Since each and every individual is staying in their own isolated virtual world, they are unable to share feelings and emotions towards each other; thereby, creating far-reaching repercussions. For instance, according to a recent survey by a known magazine of northern India, children dwelling in cities are prone to depression when compared to village children. The other reason is people residing in big cities also have to cope with several issues due to increasing population like traffic congestion, pollution and higher cost of living. These issues not only increase the risk of developing illness among urban people but also reduce their longevity.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of the declining standard of living in big cities. One way to tackle this is to improve employment opportunities in rural areas. By doing this, it will ensure that urban areas are less congested and less populated which will help to control various issues like pollution and increased the cost of living. For instance, a recent initiative taken by Gujarat government in Western India to develop small villages by providing vivid subsidies to people residing there has encouraged many youths to stay at their village rather than migrating to urban areas in search of a decent job. Another method of dealing with the declining quality of life in larger urban areas is to improve the interaction between people. Regular social occasions, events and games can be arranged by like-minded people to encourage people to socialize. This solution will hopefully prevent them from isolation and help them to share their feelings and engage in teamwork.

In conclusion, creating job opportunities in rural areas and motivating people to socialize are effective in dealing with the issue. If the government and residents take concerted action, these problems can be solved to a greater extent.