In some countries, students are expected to work or travel for a year before they join university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this practice. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Life as a student gives us more opportunities to learn and explore new things apart from university academics and knowledge. In some countries, students are asked to work or travel for a year before they take up their universities. As this could be like a coin with two sides both positives and negatives. I strongly believe that advantages definitely outweigh over disadvantages.

To begin with, the benefits of working could be gaining some new work experience and learning a skill where they are interested. As this helps the student to even earn and gives passion to dedicate more towards their work. For example, a student who is passionate about automobile engineering could work in an automobile showroom and get to expose him/her-self to the new technologies available and how market works could give him a foundation of knowledge and passion toward his academic career. The same way travelling also may introduce them to new people, place and culture which give them a lapse of time to relax before university.

On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks which are associated with this. Firstly, students may get diverted from their main path resulting in quitting the university and striking to their part time jobs. Secondly, acquiring unhealthy habits in the work place due to peer pressure which would lead to detrimental effects on health of the students spoiling their career. In the same way travelling also might lead to unwanted distractions for students which could affect their decision making skills.

To conclude, not every student will think in the same way to pursue new things and learn new skills in life. Considering from this point of view, the positives of taking a break before joining tertiary education far exceeds its drawbacks.