Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of sports and gym. Some people believe that this is an effective way of improving your productivity, while others are of the opinion that there is no benefit in doing so.

Some people argue that an effective way of enhancing the performance of an employee is to contribute towards the annual charges of sports and gym activities while other believe that this does not contribute in any advantage to the employer. Although providing employees with such benefits may make them motivated towards their work, this essay believes that the employers do not gain much for providing these benefits to the employees.

One the one hand, employers who provide sports and gym cost benefits to their employees feel more motivated towards their work which subsequently results in more productive results. This is because doing any exercise keeps you fit and active all the times and eventually you tend to concentrate more on work. Moreover, if an employee is fit, he/she can sit late hours to achieve the required task in strict deadlines. For example, a research in ‘Dawn Newspaper’ recently reported that the companies who started to provide subsidized cost benefits to their employees on sports and gym activities have improved their productivity by 20% in the year 2017. However, this essay disagrees with this view point as employees’ engagement towards such activities may only be short term which may subsequently have only short term impact.

On the other hand, providing subsidised cost for gym and sports may not give any benefit to the employer as every individual has their personal habits and social commitments. For example, an employee is not habitual of or interested in doing any exercise so eventually he will not be willing to avail this benefit. In today’s world, every individual is more occupied than ever with their social commitments with everyone having their own circumstances. For example, an individual may be occupied with wedding, honey moon, birth of a child, relatives or family member’s death etc, hence, an employee may start availing such benefit but this may not continue for long. Based on the above, I believe that company may not benefit anything by providing such benefits to the employee because employee’s personal habits and social commitments comes before than any benefits offered by company.

In conclusion, although providing discounted membership of sports and gym may lead to productivity in the employee and subsequently company’s performance, it does not guarantee any benefit to the company.