Some employers want to be able to contact their staff all times, especially holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

With the advancement of technology, communication has become easier. A few workplaces demand their staff to be available on their vacations as well. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of this development.

On the pro side, some roles require round the clock supervision, for example, hospitals, if an emergency occurs, it is necessary that the doctors and nurses are available on the floor, sometimes some cases need specialists, if there are not many, it becomes necessary to call the specialist on holidays. In addition, at some jobs, staff needs to be well informed on upcoming events, in such cases, it is required to call or email all of the employees and staff, to make sure everyone has the latest information.

On the con side, phoning or contacting the staff considered to be an invasion of their privacy. Moreover, nowadays people barely get any time to spend with their family, if they are being contacted continuously on their vacation about work-related matters, they feel obligated to attend the issue by abandoning their family which causes a huge amount of stress among staff and the productivity of their work decline gradually. Furthermore, work-life balance should be provided to the staff, that will provide them enough time to spend on their leisure activities without any interruptions.

In conclusion, employees contacting their staff has more disadvantages than advantages. In my opinion, staff should be able to enjoy their time off with their family without interference from work. This can be achieved by setting up proper human resource policies and guidelines.