“Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?”

It is widely believed that children should start to learn a foreign language in the first year of school rather than in secondary school. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when providing children at primary school with knowledge of a foreign language. First, at this age, children have to learn their mother tongue. As a language is one of the paramount factors in representing cultural identity, children not only learn the national language but they also learn about the traditions and cultures of their mother countries. Second, approaching a new language too soon may put an extra burden on children which prompts them to be overloaded. For example, children are required to learn how to read, how to write, and all the basic knowledge in order to understand a higher level of lessons. Therefore, they do not have enough time for a new language. Besides that, there will be no free time for them to engage in outdoor activities as well as play with families.

On the other hand, I believe that benefits are far more than disadvantages. One reason for this view is that pupils learn new things quickly and have a long-lasting memory. Some researchers prove that the age between 4 and 8 is the best period to absorb new knowledge, as a result, the primary level is the most suitable time to grasp a foreign language. Another reason is that approaching a new language at a young age promotes juveniles’ cognitive competence and thus enhances their language ability. Consequently, children can have a stable base for upgrades and hence they will have dominance over partners in studying and performing as well.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of providing children at a very young age with a new language are more significant than the adversities.