Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that studying a foreign language when the children are at primary school is better than later time. Every trend has the pros and cons, and this is not exception, I strongly belive that the benefits outweigh its counterpart.

It is undoudted that allowing the puplis to approach a foreign language at the early stage of life will lead them to forget the mother language, that they are not profficient. Actually, the children adapt new things so quickly that they gradually ignore the native words. Even though, my sons, at the age of ten and twelve, speak English more fluently than Vietnamese although their parents are Vietnamese.

On the other hand, when teaching a second language for children at primary school has many advantages. Firstly, training pronunciation for younger students is easier than those who are older because of their soft tounge. The little pupils speak naturally and exactly what they hear from the teacher. Especially, if they are taught by native speaker, they gain the profficiency rightaway. Secondly, there is not much homework at school so they have plenty of time to practice new language without affecting anything when comparing with those who are at higher level of study. Many recent studies have proved that learning foreign language early will be much more efficient for children and

In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts on children when studying a second language early, they still get a lot of benefits that need for their development in the future.