Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The belief of some experts that learning a foreign language at primary school has many disadvantages to it as compared to it's advantages. The main disadvantage to it is that kids can feel pressurized from introduction of a new subject in the form of a language.

To elaborate further, children in the primary school have just started with their learning path. Their prime focus is on reading, writing, speaking and understanding of basic instructions that are needed in day-to-day activities. Moreover, they also acquire knowledge of colours, numbers and basic mathematics skills. That is, the education at primary level is driven by concept based learning. So, exposing children to a foreign language can put additional pressure of learning and performing on an alien subject.

In continuity, the notion of learning a new language can also hamper their learning path of acquiring necessary skills like reading, writing, identifying colours and doing basic mathematics like addition, subtraction, division and multiplication. This can lead to stage where their confidence is shaken badly and they are not able to face their teachers, friends or even parents as well.

In contrary to above, the advantage of starting early at school can mean that children are familiar with the foreign language at an early stage and by the time they reach secondary school they are confident and mature enough to understand the nitty-gritty of the subject.

Lastly, introduction of a foreign language at an early stage has it's own repercussions with young children. Utmost attention and care should be given to prepare and help them in dealing with day-to-day activities. Learning of a new language can be introduced during later part of schooling when they are grown enough to understand that learning a new language will actually help them in the longer run.