Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Motion Pictures have become part and parcel of every household all around the globe. The level of entertainment and investment has increased exponentially in the last few decades. A substantial part of society debates the monetary resources required to create an entertaining and immersive movie.

The production value of one movie has grown due to the demand and acceptance of such movies by viewers. It is not mandatory for a studio to invest huge amounts of money in a single film. However, it completely depends on the genre of a movie produced. For instance, a dramatic movie heavy in dialogue would require less investment as compared to a grandiose movie that depends majorly on computer-generated effects.

The success of a movie is dependent on a plethora of variables such as production value, dialogue, storyline, marketing, post-production and many more. Even though all of these factors are of equal importance in any movie, they might have varying levels of involvement depending on the kind of movie the storyteller wishes to tell. For example, an animated children's comedy will have more post-production involved as opposed to a documentary about past events.

In conclusion, millions of dollars are required on average to make a successful movie as society has accepted this as a norm. A higher number of factors affect the success of a movie compared to the past. This means more resources are required to execute a movie production and in turn, more money spent overall on a motion picture. Having said that, it is not compulsory for a movie to spend a lot to make a critically acclaimed film.