Some governments spend a lot of public money training up individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays sportsmen and sportswomen have an important role in our modern societies, hence, governments allocate the majority of tax payer’s money to support the aforementioned athletes to achieve more success in sporting events around the world. Although some people tend to side with this trend, others, myself included, believe the contrariwise. Therefore, the conflicting views regarding the merits and demerits of this movement lead to rising of the question as to whether this capital should be used for other beneficial practices instead. This essay seeks to comprehensively explain my viewpoint on this matter.

The supporters strenuously defend the aid of government given to the sporting community simply because they consider this group to be role models of our society. They argue that by allocating money to promoting sports, the youngsters will be encouraged to have a healthier lifestyle and steer away from shady activities and people with a broken moral compass. Furthermore, they say helping sportsmen to achieve success will also bring glory to the nation.

On the other hand, while the mentioned attitude is perfectly understandable, an inherent weakness in such a viewpoint is that it disregards the advantages of pursuing other ventures. I tend to side with those who think that we should prioritize our needs and use our national wealth wisely so that the posterity will benefit from our decisions. I strongly believe that taxpayers’ money should first be allocated to improve our infrastructure as well as modernizing the industry. Because a country with the high unemployment rate and poor infrastructure can scarcely provide the youth and future generations the glory and morality they seek.

By the way of conclusion, on the basis of the points mentioned above, it would seem that it is essential to embark on a mission that beneficial outcomes are greater than risks associated with it. Ignoring the primitive problems in favor of national pride and morality mirage is not only unwise but also wrong in nature.