Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of free admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums and art galleries generally preserve the cultural heritage of a place. It is quite controversial amongst people whether these museums and art galleries shall charge entry fees or not. Some of these places have free admission, whereas some charge nominal entry fees. I personally believe there are many advantages of charging admission fees and somehow those overshadow its disadvantages.

There is a plethora of merits of keeping an admission fee for certain museums and art galleries. These museums and art galleries generally include idols, paintings, engravings, sculptures and historic books, which require maintenance on a regular and frequent basis. This maintenance comes with a cost. Moreover, the staff required to maintain the belongings of these museums and art galleries need to be paid. Further, if the museum includes educational material, there is a cost associated with the provision of educational equipment and accessories such as headphones. This demands of imposing an admission fee to museum and art galleries, which ensures all belongings are maintained well.

On the other hand, some believe that museums and art galleries should have free entry. This is substantiated by the fact that people refrain from entering these places because of the admission fees. For instance, tourists, especially, will divert their minds in visiting other places rather than visiting museums and art galleries. In fact, these places may lose their charm and will be ineffective in attracting local residents and tourists.

It is quite imperative that the pre-historic museums and art galleries represent the cultural character of a place and preserving them should be a priority. Despite the fact that preserving and maintaining these museums involve cost, I strongly believe that there are many advantages of charging admission fees for such places, which far outweigh its disadvantages.