Some parents buy their children large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Nowadays, double income families have become a norm in societies and families spend less time with their children and they are less concerned with children’s upbringing. Consequently, they try to compensate this with providing more recreational facilities for their young children such as a wide range of toys to play with. There are some benefits and drawbacks for this issue that would be discussed.

A group of people believe that there are more advantages for this trend. Firstly, parents can learn about their children’s interests since some of the toys would be more tempting for young children and they enjoy playing with those specific toys. Secondly, providing a variety of toys help children to develop their talent and innate instincts. Finally, Playing with lego or doing puzzles help children to be more innovative and creative in the future.

On the other hand, there are some significant drawbacks for this issue. Owning a large number of toys will impact children’s character and make them arrogant, selfish and rude people. Furthermore, children would be less interested in playing with their peers and consequently these young individuals would be more isolated. Moreover, they will expect their parents to provide them more things in the future and put pressure on them by pestering or nagging.

In conclusion, although there are some great achievements in playing with wide range of toys, it would have some detrimental effects. Not only parents, but also teachers and schools should think about the consequences of this scheme.