Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Playing with Toys is an integral part of our life when we are growing up.There are different options like dolls, Cars and many more, every time our parents bought us a toy we would be thrilled, this toy would be our favorite for a month after which it would end up in the toy basket with the other toys. This essay would look into the merits and demerits of having a variety of toys.

Let us focus on the advantages. If we walk into a kids store what we see is a plethora of Toys like dolls, legos, trains, cars, jigsaw puzzel and many more. Having such a huge variety gives the kids an options of exploring their thoughts and thinking in different ways. Also it improves their learning ability like recognizing the colour and animals in a playful manner without giving any stress to the mind. in a recent experiments by teachers in a kinder-garden, it was found that the children were able to tell better story on any topic if they were allowed to play with their dolls etc before the story session. It was observes that they would do a role play with the dolls which in return help them to develop their story telling skills.

If there are advantages of having a gigantic collection of toys there are certain disadvantages also. Firstly, if the child plays only with their toys,they will lack social development, earlier when we had fewer options children would go out and play with their friends and they would interact with each other which would make them friendly and develop their interactive skill but with the child being constrained to these toys these skills are not developed. Another adverse effect of having a large number of toys are that they would not value the worth of the toy, when the kid is bored of playing with the particular toys and find nothing more interesting they would dump it in the old toy basket and would never be remembered.

To conclude, both mental and physical fitness is a vital element for the growth of our young generation. hence both the aspect should be balanced.