In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In some areas we can catch sight of an increasing number of many people dig into the history of their own family. There are a mixed variety of reasons why they want to do this and in my point of view, it is a positive development no matter how many people argue this issue. This essay will first discuss the reasons for this action, then it will give evidence to explain why this is a positive development.

For me, there are two main reasons leading to this popular trend. Firstly, the people who want to do research on their family’s history are possibly curious about their ancestors. To be more specific, they would have the feeling of excitement to know more about their family roots as well as discover the secrets in millions years ago of their family. For example, my friends hope that he has a wealthy ancestor and even image that his ancestor would hide treasures somewhere for his descendants, so he burns the midnight oil to muse over the family trees. Secondly, with the help of Internet, people are easily inspired by their peers who share their discover about their forbears on Facebook and eventually they will start imitating their friends.

In terms of whether it is a positive or negative development, I reckon that it is a good one. Researching the family trees can be their interest, which helps them to let the tension melt away after a hard working day at the workplace. Furthermore, this way will help us to acquire more knowledge, which can be history lessons for us to teach our children and rekindles the interest to learn history for them. To give an example, many kids can not stand the history lessons delivered by their teachers, so listen to their parents’ story about family history would be a way more interesting way.

All in all, people are out of curiosity or follow the advertisements on the Internet to keep this trend growing. No matter how many people do this, this bring advantages to both the researcher and their children.