Some people argue that a growing number of young people spend too much time in watching TV. Why does this phenomenon happen? And what kinds of activities should be encouraged to them?

Time, spent by the youth of present generation, watching TV programs is being criticized by many. From pre-school kids to young adults are found to be addicted to setellite channels as they get limited access to outdoor activities. This essay will discuss the relatin between TV addiction and scope limitation of outdoor sports as well as the effect of encouraging sports to improve the present scenario.

The practice of staying in front of TVs for a long time started with the reduction of opportunities for outdoor activities. Firstly, neighbourhoods all over the world are densely populated that the society can hardly ensure playfields for the dwellers. As a consequence, the children are left with no option to play that involves physical labor but to stay indoor. Secondly, parents are highly concerned about the companions their offspring accept because of the increasing number of teen-crimes. In USA, for instance, 193 crimes were being reported in 2018 where a gang of teenagers were involved coming from good families. Being concerned about their son's future, a father finds it safer to motivate him to stay inside than get involved in outside world. Here again, the person is left with the easiest solution of watching TV. It can be said that, if a reason is keeping someone at home, it surely is promoting the person to enjoy tv programs.

However, to overcome the addiction of sitting infront of TV, some measures can be ensured by the guardians. As the playfields are limited in living areas, schools authorities have to play a key-role by making spors attractive to the enrolled students by continuously organizing sport events and conducting practice sessions. Though it might take long to transform the television watchers to active athlets, both the teachers and the parents have to provide frequent support to the students. Moreover, indoor stadiums can also compensate for the lack of playfields as this is possible to organize sports in such places at minimum cost. Not only that, such stadiums offer experienced coaches to train the young minds become physically fit. Once someone is attached to such places, they have less time to pass time watching TVs.

To conclude, the hours spent infront of TV has increased globally.Lack of outdoor activities have forced the youth to stay at home and watch TV. To reduce the negative effect of such phenomenon, it is high time to promote sports among the young generation.