Some people believe that advertisements are useful for viewers while others disagree Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, we can found advertisement in every place and every time. We are constantly surrounded by advertising, from television commercials, radio or billboards to posters on the roads. Some people believe, these advertisements are not good for viewer, however others do not agree.

Firstly, advertising plays an important role in the economy. Companies need to tell consumers about their products and services. Advertising informs us about the choices we have and the use of the products. Secondly, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people, therefore providing jobs opportunities and income for people. So, without advertising, there would be higher unemployment rate.

For example, Kellogg’s cornflakes have a variety of flavors for different ranges to offer for different age groups and now also for people want to lose weight, thus giving consumers different choice to select from. As a result, without advertising, we would have fewer choices.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some people might think that advertising is a negative part of our lives. One problem is that advertisers often aim their marketing at the young age groups. Children, for instance, can easily be influenced by advertisements. So this put pressure on their parents to buy them things by pestering and nagging. Another problem is that many advertisements manipulate people too badly. Capturing the minds of consumers is the main intention of the advertisements. Thus by persuading people that buying a product will make them happier and with higher social status.

In conclusion, the advantage of television advertising makes it by far the most effective advertising medium. Since the marketing industry is very competitive, even the smallest advantage can give a company an edge over its competitors. Thus, companies with a large advertising budget undoubtedly prefer television to other forms of advertising media.