Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs.Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Myriads of people hold the view that being educated to tertiary level is geared towards securing good occupations for school leavers, while a school of thought opine that it has more personal and societal impact. The subsequent paragraphs will dissect both perspectives and ventilate my opinion.

The notion that higher educational institutions exist to aid ex-students to get nice jobs is probably due to the fact that employers of labour place too much emphasis on the qualifications obtained especially in recruitment and remuneration. In fact, some job advertisements will specifically place advantages on postgraduate degree holders. For instance, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation in her last employment exercise, clearly dissuade non degree holders from applying for certain roles, even its salary scheme gives priority to graduates of universities. Thus, this substantiate the view that university education allows for meaningful jobs.

However, the value of education is not just for getting good jobs because it will train the students to become responsible members of the society. High education inculcate leadership skills on individuals and build their moral consciousness which will in turn rub-off on the society they live. To illustrate, a survey by Ministry of education in 2019 shows that people become more respected members of the society as a result of their level of education and that crime in the society is perpetrated more by school leavers and illiterate members of the society who cannot afford basic needs. Hence, personal and societal development is also a dividend of tertiary learning.

To conclude, opinions abound on the goal of undergraduate and postgraduate studies. While some extend its benefits to individuals and society others hold sway that it is for good jobs. I think it imbibes moral rectitude for growth of person and society while also catering for needs through the job opportunities.