Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is believed by some that university degree is only important to those who wants to get a good job with good salary structure, whereas other thinks that, it adds a greater value to the society as well as for a person to have a graduate degree . In this essay, I will discuss both the points and will state my opinion.

Primary education has become a necessity in an individual's life. In todays generation, however primary education is not sufficient to survive in this competitive world. One must possess a university degree to compete in the market for better jobs. Having done a speciality course, will definately add benefits to one's resume. A research at oxford university studied that, people having a university degree will be benefitted with better job profile, that those who do not hold one.

On the other hand having a job satisfaction is of greater importance. A person can be very productive, if that person has a favourable working environment. For example, if an employee, is having a great tendency to lead a team, but due to lack of his educational qualification, he is given a lower post, he wont be able to contribute that well and would always be seen as underperformed. This problem can be solved, if a person holds a graduate degree making him to be qualiied as a team leader.

Having a specialization in a specific field can prove to be of great importance, to self as well as to the society. Certain contribution like, in the field of medicine, can only be achieved by having a university degree. A doctor can only operate on people, if he has a medical degree from the university and with that he can contribute to the well being of society. So an additional degree can help in contributing ones work towards the community.

In my opinion, university degree is a must, if a person wants to do something useful for the society, as well as for self. Also, a degree brings a respect to an individual in the society.