Some people think that art is the essential subject for the children at the school. while other think it is waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

Some argue that studying art in school should be given importance, whereas others say it shall not be considered as a curriculum,as it is a waste of time. However according to me, I think art carries its own importance and that it should not be neglected, rather given equal importance in a child's school curriculum.

One of the most important thing to consider about art is that, it can teach children to express themselves better by drawing their feelings, as it is difficult for them to express by words. Art can help a child to be creative and may help in enhancing their imagination too. At Oxford university, they studied behavior in children aged between 5-10 years, they concluded that when a child is given a pencil and a paper, they have a huge tendency to come out with some really amazing and innovative idea to draw something out of their imagination. This lead to an increase in their brain activity which can help them to develop their mental strength.

Other than just drawing, Dance and Music can also be considered as a form of art. Dance helps in developing hand eye coordination and helps to relax your mind. Music can also help to bring peace of mind and can help one to focus in their work positively.

Although in today's competitive world, people want their children to focus more on other subjects like science and math which they think, would help them in their future. Subject's like science and math should be given more importance as they do outweigh when compared to art.

In conclusion, as it is not necessary that every child would want to be a scientist or an engineer, some might want to consider to become a painter, actor or a dancer. So, I think that art should be considered as a subject in a school curriculum, which can help a child to have better imagination power.