Stores should sell local food products and not the imported food products. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that supermarkets should sell local food items rather than imported food items. This essay completely disagrees with this viewpoint because it is impossible to grow certain fruits and vegetables in some nations and importing produce gives people a vast variety of options to eat.

Firstly, in some parts of the world, importing food products from other countries is the only option because of their weather conditions. Countries of North America and Europe have a harsh climate where the temperature remains quite low because of that the cultivation is not possible. Therefore, it is better for shops of such nations to import and sell food items from tropical countries. For instance, in the USA, all supermarkets keep imported fruits and vegetables because those items cannot be produced locally.

Secondly, individuals can consume distinct types of food products. This is because if local shops import certain food items from other parts of the world, people would have multiple options to relish fruits and vegetables, which they can add to their daily diet. As a result, people can consume food according to their personal preference rather than just depend on local food products. For example, in India, the people buy fruits of other nations, like avocados and kiwis, because the local markets import them of the huge demand of these fruits.

In conclusion, shops should sell both local and imported food products because the cultivation of some foods is impossible in some countries and this practice gives individuals more choices of foods to eat.