Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world is now shifting towards artificial intelligence, that reduces the manual labor work. However this technology is not 100 percent reliable, as for now. Depending totally on machines or technology for any particular work could result in negative consequences too. No matter how much the technology advances, human assistance would always and should always be there.

The new automation technology, like self drive cars, robotic surgery, robotic packaging and counting unit, etc. all have reduced a lot of human efforts, but still it do requires human supervision. For e.g, in robotic surgery, the doctors have to guide the machine in performing a surgery, they cannot totally rely on machine to complete the surgery, human assistance would always require.

This assay has asked, if working hours should be reduced? but as mentioned above, non of the automated technology can work independently, especially where a life is to be dealt. Apart for that, in factories where the technology is used for packaging or other purpose, human supervision is required. This reduces the number of labors, but it do not affect the working hours. The time required to perform a particular task for a machine, will require attention of a worker from the start till the work is completed.

Also, as the technology advances in automation, there will be a lot of unemployment, as it reduces the labor work, so if we reduce the working hours, then it will negatively affect workers survival financially.

To sum up, as human interference will always be required in this automated world, reduction of working hours will directly lead to financial crashes too. So its better not to reduce working hours.