Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world s fuel resources To what extent do you agree or disagree

Aviation is one of the known causes of air pollution. Aircrafts being heaviest among the other transport modes, work on carbon based fuels and emit greenhouse gases such as Carbon Dioxide(CO2) which is a key cause behind global warming. However, In my opinion the view of some people that because air travel causes serious pollution, therefore air travel should be reduced is not correct, I do not agree with it for multiple reasons which will be highlighted in this essay.

Air travel has increased over the years, and will continue to grow with increase in population and growing vocational, tourism and trade opportunities around the globe. The reason of pollution is not the travel, but the carbon based fuel, aircraft infrastructure and travel strategy. The aircrafts are large and require more energy to power the descend, climb and to stay afloat in the year. The larger the aircraft the more the fuel requirement.

The greenhouse gases released in the air at higher altitudes remain in the air for longer and thereby cause heating of the atmosphere for longer time and impact ozone layer too. The alternatives can be to work on biofuels that are less harmful or work on revamping aircraft that consume less fuels. Until the suitable alternatives such as solar battery or electric batteries or biofuels are not tested and approved by Aviation regulatory bodies, travel strategies can be reviewed in order to optimize fuel consumption. These require research, development and long term investment, while in parallel travel type can be revamped.

Travels that require multiple stop and long-haul flights consume much more fuel, compared to short air travel travel. Hence air travel that require longer fleeting time, can be relooked at. Wherever the alternative sources are available, such as travel within the country, ,citizens should use public transport to optimize consumption of fuels. The world seem to be coming together to limit the global warming, for example, the Paris climate agreement considers carbon emission effects too. Hence one can assume that efforts are underway to revamp current aviation industry too.

To sum up, air travel needs to continue in the interest of business, world economy and prosperity of the world. However, like any industry it needs to evolve in order to add value and reduce its harmful impact. This requires working on alternative and renewable energy creation so that effects of global warming are reduced.