Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world s fuel resources To what extent do you agree or disagree

Aviation is one of the known causes of air pollution. Aircrafts being heaviest among the other transport modes, work on carbon based fuels and emit greenhouse gases such as Carbon Dioxide(CO2) which is a key cause behind global warming. However, In my opinion the view of some people that because air travel causes serious pollution, therefore air travel reduction is not correct, I do not agree with it for multiple reasons which will be highlighted in this essay.

Air travel has increased over the years, and will continue to grow with increase in population and growing vocational, tourism and trade opportunities around the globe. The reason of air contamination is not the journey, but the kerosene based energy, the air carrier framework and halt strategies. The planes are large and require more energy to power the descend, climb and to stay afloat in the air. The larger the career the more will be the combustible requirement.

The greenhouse gases released in the air at higher altitudes remain in the air for longer and thereby cause heating of the atmosphere for longer time and impact ozone layer too. The alternatives can be to work on biofuels that are less harmful or work on revamping aviation transport that consume less propellants. Until a suitable substitute such as solar or electric batteries or biogas are not tested and approved by Aviation regulatory bodies, travel plans can be reviewed in order to optimize fuel consumption. These require research, development and long term investment, while in parallel travel routes can be revamped.

Travels that require multiple stop and long-haul flights consume more fuel, compared to short distance travel. Hence air travel that require longer fleeting time, can be relooked at. Wherever different options for transport are available, such as domestic tour, citizens should use public carriers to optimize consumption of fuels and reduce pollution. The world seem to be coming together to limit the global warming, for example, the Paris climate agreement considers carbon emission effects too. Hence, one can assume that efforts are underway to revamp current aviation model.

To sum up, air travel needs to continue in the interest of business, world economy and prosperity. However, like any industry it needs to evolve in order to add value and reduce its harmful impact. This requires working on alternative transports, procedures and renewable energy creation so that global warming does not increase further.