Economic progress is one way to measure the success of one country while some people think there are other factors What other factors should be considered Within these factors do you think anyone is more important than the others

Growth or prosperity of a country often relates to its financial position alone, mainly measured in terms of Gross Domestic Products (GDP). The GDP always measures products produced by a country and services provided in a financial year. Since the parameters are skewed and limited, there have been voices seeking change of parameters to measure actual worth of a country. I also believe that with changing world, there needs to be a wholistic view to measure sustainability and prosperity of nation, where money is just one parameter among many.

Economic progress is about creation of wealth and job opportunities using earnings of a nation, that is further reinvested in money making activities using which human well being can be attained. With globalization, where citizens can find opportunities beyond their nation, job creation cannot be the only criteria for a nation. Living conditions, health of citizens, education, human development index, happiness, conservation and maintain carbon footprint are some of the key criteria that can be added in measure of a country's progress too. For example, in India rate of economy growth pre-pandemic was very promising. However, the living conditions , malnutrition, male-female ratio, pollution have been key concerns, leading to other poorer indices. Similarly, even though US has almost retained largest economy position for many decades, most of country's wealth is possessed by it's billionaires , leading to socio economic divide.

Among the many factors that should be including in measuring country's economic development. my inclination is towards handling of environmental issues, conservation, health and education. Human capital is most important asset, which once developed can do wonders to wealth of nation. A healthy body with good mental health and education through creativity can help in inventions, leading to patents and innovations, thereby improving self sustainability.

To sum up, the world the way it is today reveres countries that score higher financially. The living conditions of developed countries also cannot be denied. However, we cannot ignore that industrialization has led to global warning, which has impacted the whole world, yet, heavy cost is borne by smaller countries. Further, there are countries that are smaller in size such as New Zealand, Sweden, Finland that have done well financially and in managing improved education, health, happiness and environmental upkeeping too. The success of such countries cannot be weighed down because of economic progress alone. Hence countries fairing well in overall development without impacting carbon foot print need to be appreciated and acknowledged. This is feasible only if measurement criteria of economy is upgraded.

Within these factors, do you think anyone is more important than the others?