Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. To what extent do you agree to that?

How do you think children should spend their free time?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Few people are of the opinion that, children are given more than required amount of leisure time. They think that extra time can be utilized to undertake more school work. This approach in today’s competitive world will not contribute much because, of its low applicability. Advent of technology has altered the way learning. Merely spending time on doing school work is just not enough to succeed academically as well as professionally. I will discuss both in detail.

People in favor of investing more time in completing school work think that, children these days are less concerned about studies; rather they are seen spending free time doing irrelevant activities such as; surfing on computer, using cellphones, watching TV, hanging out or sleeping. To be successful academically, it is important that one should complete his/her school work in due time. This practice has been greatly successful until eighties.

First of all, student these days hate to spend extra time on doing school work. Children should be given extra time to socialize with their age bracket group. The more they interact, more they will learn. This is called social learning. They should spend more time in doing extra-curricular activities such as reading novels, watching documentaries, physical exercises, sports etc. In spare time children should be given practical exposure to learning new thing such us letting them fix a broken computer, repairing bicycle, or a broken window. One such example is Pakistan’s Stock Exchange tycoon, Mr. Abdul Karim Dehdi. AKD never acquired any formal qualification but since his childhood he used to work in a stock exchange. Children should be exposed to more complicated learning processes in free time. Bill Gates was dropped out of college but he used his spare time building something which today is known as “Microsoft”.

Schools should introduce process of smart learning rather burdening students with extra workload. Virtual learning environment has almost replaced traditional classroom learning. They should be assessed on level of their extra-curricular activities. They should be given projects to practically work on rather completing assignments with zero learning.