Essay topics: Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few people believe that prolonged prison sentencing is the most favorable way to curtail crime rates. However, some are of the opinion that, alternative methods of punishment can be more effective in lowering down crimes. I believe, long term jail further aggravate the issue, as this will help low level criminal to interact will high level criminal for an extended time period, and this will draw low level criminal in committing more serious crimes once set free.

People who carry positive stance on long term prison believe that, harsh sentencing would keep criminal away from the healthy society and he/she will not be able to contaminate society with their nefarious actions. Consequences of committing crime will keep the society in-check especially, younger generation. People will believe in doing hard work rather indulging in criminal activities. People with this school of thought believe that, this practice will help in reducing number of crimes substantially.

On the other hand, few people hold a different approach to this menace. This group of people suggests alternative ways of punishments to reduce crimes. They are in the favor of prison sentence but they want it short, effective and economical. For example, they believe in 6 months to 01 year of imprisonment, with minimum six month of community service. During their time in prison, inmates should be put into working conditions such as, sewing, repairing, documentation, data entry etc. They need to be taught different skills with practical experience. This will help in two ways; convict will become a part of country’s economic workforce, and government will have reduced expenses on prisons. Community will also benefit from their services. Once free, that person can earn a decent living and country will have more skilled people and fewer burdens on public funds.

To sum it up, If the crime is not serious in nature it should be dealt with a different approach. Governments should work thoroughly in producing innovative and effective and economic ways of punishments rather relying on ineffective and decade’s old punishments.