Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that longer imprisonment is the key solution to lessen crime, while others are of the opinion that more effective ways can be incorporated to minimize crime. The essay believes that community service and providing training to develop valuable skills is better choice than longer jail punishment. The essay will first discuss why longer imprisonment is not practical solution and secondly, discuss alternative solutions.

To begin with, duration of imprisonment depends on the severity of crime. Therefore, it is not practical to impose longer sentences for minor crimes, such as pick pocketing or breaking a stop light. However, in case of major crimes, such as murder or robbery it justifies the punishment. Another point to consider is the high cost associated to operate prisons, according to The Times each state in the USA spends around $1 billion every year on Jails. Adding more inmates into the jail would increase the functional cost, which is clearly a poor solution for controlling and reducing misdeeds in society.

On the other hand, providing valuable training in prison such as computer programming, basic carpentry skills, and car maintenance skills will help offenders to reintegrate back in society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. This solution hopefully would also reduce number of re-offenders. Moreover, for minor crimes, penalty such as community service should be given so that both the offender and society get benefitted without involving major resources. For example, The UK government has initiated punishment of cleaning streets if found guilty of breaking a signal. This saves a lot of money and time of policemen in supervision of trivial offenders, which can be directed to focus on reasons of major crimes.

In conclusion, government should consider re-training offenders with valuable skills not only to minimize the number of crimes but also to reduce repeating wrongdoers, instead placing people in prison for longer periods.