Some people work for the same organization all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organizations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people prefer to be employed in a single corporation until they retire, while others believe that working with multiple employers is beneficial. This essay agrees that having work experience from several companies is advantageous. The essay will discuss first, disadvantages of a single employer and then, mention multiple employers builds better career.

To begin with, those who prefer to continue working with the same employer throughout their career might get occasional promotions and better pension plan after they retire because of their loyalty. However, they miss out the experience of learning different work cultures, exposure to versatile methodologies, and problem solving approaches followed in various organisations. When people work with the same company their knowledge and learning gets limited as time passes. Therefore, development of their skills and professional network becomes confined. For example, according to the Times newspaper survey, 70% of the Senior Managers found inefficient in using modern computer tools as their organisations never trained them in using modern tools.

On the other hand, working with several organisations paves a successful career path as every organisation offers something new to learn, which is essential in building a strong foundation of knowledge. Many times it involves moving to different countries, working with people of different culture and background. This not only develops person’s communication skills but also ability to adapt to new work environment and challenges. These are a must have factors for the strong leadership positions. For example, according to the Time magazine, recent trend is to fill the Director position with a person who has overseas work experience.

In conclusion, it is suggested to work with multiple companies to grow professionally as well as personally. However, many people may choose to settle down with one employer because of the superior retirement fund.