Some people believe that construction of new public buildings such as museums, town halls and sporting facilities is more important than renovation of the existing ones, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that ancient buildings are the pride and heritage of the nation. It has been always sparked heated debate for many decades, whether the government should restore old buildings or not? Some masses believe that new structures should be constructed whilst others believe renovating of the existing ones. This essay will elaborate on both the views and give opinions in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there are multifarious benefits to constructing new public buildings. Firstly, it can uplift the standard of life. To cite an example, new playgrounds help individuals to work on physical fitness and games which are essential to keep us fit. Secondly, the construction of museums helps masses to enhance their knowledge of history and culture and it also helps individuals in giving a sigh of relief not only from their monotonous life but also from hustle and bustle in life. The government, therefore, should invest money in these historical sites.

On the flip side, can’t we renovate the old building? Certainly, there are numerous reasons to support the latter view. First and foremost, the old structure depicts our history and culture of ancient times. Secondly, historical sites must be preserved for future generations. Apart from that, these heritages are a good source of revenue for the government. To illustrate, In Rajasthan, many old monuments have been converted into hotels which can generate an ample amount of income for the government. As a result, it would be better to renovate historic buildings.

To conclude, from my perspective, the government should construct new buildings to give benefits to citizens. However, they should also renovate historical structures as they are a pivotal source of income.