Some people believe that countries should produce food that its population needs, and import food as less as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is undeniable fact that nations are facing major concerns in providing an adequate amount of food to their citizens. It is often argued that government should import less quantity of food and ensure to produce all kinds of food within a country. In my opinion, I firmly believe that a nation should increase the production of domestic foods rather than importing from other countries.

Domestic food production holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To commence with, most of the government leaders in their countries are focusing on farming, irrigation, and planting which will increase employment opportunities. To illustrate, In India, the farming sector creates a high percentage of jobs. More than seventy percent of Indians are directly or indirectly dependent on the agricultural sector. Secondly, the locally produced food will have freshness and good quality than imported food. For example, most of fruits and vegetables coming in the Europe countries does not have the freshness and organic quality because it is made from the hybrid process.

Furthermore, the countries have to pay high wages while importing food from different nations that includes transportation costs, taxation charges, custom duty charges, SGS certificate, and other charges. These all charges eventually make the price higher of goods that are imported from other countries. Consequently, every individual cannot afford in buying those imported foods. And, somehow in many poor destitute countries, people die from hunger. However, this problem can be easily solved by governmental leaders if they invest the country's budget in the domestic production of food instead of ordering the imported goods.

To conclude, it is evident that nations that are producing domestic food have given fruitful benefits to their residents.