Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. Others may think there are alternative ways to this problem. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary society, whether longer jail sentences is a good way to reduce crime or other alternative ways to reduce this muddle has sparked much of a debate. Some people assert that longer sentences in jail is the best way to reduce crime rate, whereas innumerable think other alternative solutions to this problem. Personally, I am in favor of the latter view.

Crime rate has enormously increased in both urban as well as rural areas. To begin with, people who are involved in crime are openly doing such activities. However, they get arrested by the police and are released either by bail or completing the jail term. Moreover, they tend to get involved in the same business without any fear from the police. For example. a person involved in robbing money and gets caught is aware of the fact, that he will be released from the prison with warning in seven days. However, if the jail term for such criminals is increased, there are ways and means to bribe the police and get out of the situation. Lastly, many policemen are also involved in encouraging crime so that they can get their profit share from the criminals. Therefore, longer jail sentences may help but it is not the good way to reduce crime rates.

On the other hand, other alternate solutions can be given to reduce the crime rate. Firstly, criminals should be punished immediately for doing such activities instead of putting them behind the bars. This will help reduce the infra cost of the jail for the government. Moreover, the punishment should be very strict for all the crimes. Take Saudi Arabia as an example. If any person involved in robbery or any other criminal activity, he is given punishment in front of everyone by chopping off his hands or head. This creates fear among people and helps to reduce crime rates. Similarly, officials should create public awareness about such punishments for avoiding or reducing such criminal activities.

In conclusion, I would concede that longer jail sentences may have some supremacy. Despite that, other alternatives supports in a much better way. Overall, I am convinced that crime can be reduced by other alternate solutions rather than increasing the jail term for criminals.