Some people think widening of roads will help in reduction of traffic and some think public transport will help in the reduction of traffic. Give your opinion.

In the current age, there are been a spark of debate in relation to traffic problems. Some people assert that by widening the road it will help to reduce the traffic, whereas others think introducing more public transport services will help in the reduction of traffic problems. Personally, I agree with the latter view point.

Traffic has become a major problem with everyone's daily routine. There are increasing number of cars daily on the road and thus traffic problems occur. If the roads are widen, it is not necessary that the traffic will be reduced. People today prefer travelling in their own cars when they go to work or shopping. For instance, a family of four adults having four separate cars for their personal use or to go to work, due to this and in spite of widening the roads, there will be no reduction in traffic problems.

On the other hand, using public transport is much cost efficient and helps in reduction in traffic. Public transports like bus or a train can accommodate large number of people for the purpose of travelling. This can help in the reduction of traffic rather than using personal car. It also helps in reduction of the pollution as less vehicles will be running on the road. Moreover, it helps in the cost of reduction for the infrastructure development and maintain the nature's beauty.

In summary, I will concede that having a personal car has some advantages but using public transport leads the chart for the reduction in traffic. I agree that using public transport is cost effective and helps in the reduction of traffic.