Some people believe imposing a tax on fast food can reduce its consumption .Do you agree or disagree?

it is believed by some sections of society that demand for packed food can be reduced by levying fine on it. I completely disagree with this notion, as this is not a worthy solution.

To commence with, imposing tax will not deter those, who are working, attributed to their busy schedule. People who are in a workaholic culture can easily afford expensive fast food. Tax will not create any hurdle for them in purchasing junk food. This is because of the fact that such people do not have any other option rather than eating processed food. To illustrate, one of my friends who is living in Australia works for 18 hours therefore to save time he always prefers to eat fast food.

Furthermore, some social beings who are completely dependent on junk food or do not have resources to cook food, they have to grapple with many problems , Consequently, such people will suffer from appetite because of lack of affordability of costly processed food. For instance , Weaker section of the society who often eat packed food, would not be able to purchase food having a heavy tax on it.

To conclude, I reaffirm that imposing a tax is not an ideal solution to decrease the demand for fast food by society.