Some people believe that the internet has brought people closer together by making the world smaller. Others disagree, claiming that the internet has made people and communities more isolated because they no longer need to leave home and interact with others.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The internet has greatly impacted our lives, especially in the way we interact with others. While some think this technology has shrunk the world and made it easier to establish relationships, others counter that it has in fact led many people to disengage. As both viewpoints have merits, I tend to believe that everyone has a duty to balance his or her on and offline socialization.

The internet’s ability to connect people from all corners of the Earth is certainly a positive development. Businesses can reach more customers, strangers can meet online to share ideas, languages, and other useful information, and, most importantly, people are more cognizant of others’ struggles and are able to help with a click of a button. For example, when crises occur, such as earthquakes, typhoons, or terrorist attacks, people can send financial and emotional support via e-transfers, message boards, and social network awareness campaigns. Rescue and rebuilding efforts can thereby be sped up and people can feel a sense of accomplishment and philanthropy. Clearly, this brings people together in real and meaningful ways.

That being said, many people consider clicking a button on some website an empty gesture, one as simple as purchasing a pair of jeans. Of course, there is no denying that financial aid has real impacts, but the feeling associated with this action actually serves to distance people from others because it is too easy and requires minimal effort. Meeting someone face-to-face, on the other hand, demands a person’s time and energy, and it requires motivation. The less people engage in these sort of meetings, the less inclined they become to do so.

To summarize, the internet provides people with many benefits, yet it also has the power to disconnect them from the real world. It is up to everyone to decide for themselves their levels and modes of engagement.