Some people believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Even though contemporary technological innovations are bringing unprecedented convenience, only a few resourceful people can access it. Individuals have indifferent views regarding whether it increases the dichotomy between the affluent and the impoverished or the opposite is happening. This essay will gingerly converse about both the views and will argue why technology is augmenting the economical gap between people.

People who think assert that technology is diminishing the gap between the opulent and the poverty-stricken might argue that a person can transform their life from rags to riches via modern innovations. Today, anyone who owns an internet-enabled device can either make blogs or videos which would transform them into overnight sensations. Justin Bieber, for example, used to upload videos of his singing and songwriting skills and is today is a celebrity. As most of the people nowadays have access to smartphones, tablets or laptops the probability to make a lavish amount of money is on the higher side. Hence, technical advancements have the potential to change someone’s financial predicaments.

On the other hand, others and I think that technology is fueling the division between the rich and the poor might argue that modern inventions have made it almost impossible to attain job security. As artificial intelligent robots are incessantly replacing humans at workplaces, these workers who are already trying to make ends meet are losing their much-needed jobs; eventually pushing them below the poverty line. General Motors, Nissan, Hyundai, for instance, have already employed robots in place of humans to increase their daily production that resulted in job loss for thousands of people. Therefore, if the technology is driving business owners to lay-off their employees, indeed, technological innovations can be held accountable for the increasing gap between the fortunate and the not so fortunate people.

To conclude, even though technological breakthroughs might help only a few to become millionaires, if thousands of people are being laid-off because of this, it is solely promoting the gap between economical classes in the society.