Some people believe that physical fitness of strong individuals and teams is the reason for most sports achievements Others however think that mental attitude is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whether physical fitness on is actually the only ingredient necessary to reach major achievements in sport competion is up for debate. Many claim that other factors play a role in reaching high levels in competitions. A long tradition that can be traced back to ancient civilitations underline the importance of a strong mental attitude as a tremendous weapon that can lead to extraordinary permormances. There is no doubt that athlets should work on their physical condition: runners have to train their bodies and their legs in order to cover long distances. Boxers have to lift weights and do endless, painful series of sit-ups. Football players have to develop muscles to jump high, to run fast and to kick the ball most precisely as the can.

As we can see, the list could go on and on but there is something essential that has not been considered. No matter which sport one is playing or what muscles is working on: the attitude one plays, runs or fights with can make the difference between victory and defeat, success and lost, fame and shame. The mind should be regarded and consequently trained as a muscle. Focusing on the match, studying the opponents, overcoming the fear are part of a successful result. For ggod reason therefore, it has been said that the mind is the most powerful weapon a human can rely on.

You can put together the best team, with the best players in the best physical condition but without an ecceptional mental attitude this compound of muscles, talent and skills may be not sufficient to face up to a determined, focused opponent. How tricherous this aspect could be, it can be seen in many football matches, where teams thoguht as invincible lost miserably against low ranked opponents. It is no surprise therefore that nowadays mental coaching has become a firm component in the training programs.

In conclusion, although most of the time and energy should be allocated to shape the physical condition, athlets should also reserve part of the time to develop a focused, strong mental attitude which can support them during some diffcult moments they may have to face during a competition.