Some people believe that with the popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become thing of past. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that with the rapid rise in the fame of digital media, the traditional printed version is expected to become redundant in the near future. I completely agree with this notion because young generation usually prefer news on the internet and the majority of leading newspapers are available online due to environmental concerns.

In this contemporary era, the computer oriented young generation would contribute happily towards the disappearance of paper-based information. In other words, young people brought up in computer culture find it very hard to get attracted to print media because it is facile for them to google news anywhere in the world and they no longer have to wait for the next day to receive the newspaper. For instance, a survey report based on the preference of traditional and online newspapers in the Daily times states that the majority of young people prefer to read the news on their electronic gadgets.

Another reason for the popularity is due to environmental issues the majority of the leading newspapers have an active presence over the internet which clearly indicates their own natural shift towards digital media. As many of the newspaper agencies have realized the harsh reality that to protect the environment they have to say no to deforestation for the printing of newspapers. For example, The New York Times, a leading print media giant in North America has internet presence since 2003 and they stated that for their business they do not want to jeopardize the rapidly declining climate so, they led the example by taking crucial steps.

To conclude, the replacement of the newspapers by digital media is unavoidable mainly because of active young readers and to save our earth planet shift to online news is imperative.