Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Although it is thought by many that traditional libraries should be upgraded by the digital libraries because they consume a lot of money and expenditure, others disagree. However, in my opinion, I believe that although this development will cut the human resource need for assistance and their expenses, the increased use of computer screens would raise many health issues.

On the one hand, if computers were added to the libraries, then the need for maintenance staff would become redundant. This is to say, the staff is required for running a library, and receive high remunerations in return for their services such as help in finding books from shelves. Because electronic devices will enable people to search a book on their own without any help, the monetary budget allocated for the salaries of workers will be saved. For instance, in Germany, the average wage of a librarian is 3000 euros per month, which is a burden on the administration as the popularity of libraries is declining at a staggering rate. However, I consider that computers are liable to repair, and require maintenance staff which will increase the overall cost.

On the other hand, increased screen-time can cause discomfort to the reader. As many people are not comfortable with reading books on computer screens, so they will suffer from several ailments such as fatigue and eyesight issues. All levels of radiation from computer screens are below levels that can cause eye damage such as cataracts. I agree that it is not in everyone's capacity to survive with the harmful rays emitted from electronic devices. For example, a recent survey report published in the Daily Times revealed that 56% of people suffering from dry-eye syndrome are excessive computer users.

To conclude, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that computers will require IT professionals for running a database, it can also affect the health of people as well.