Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the addition of more sports amenities for the public ensures improvement in public health, while others say that it has negligible effects and hence alternate methods are required. This essay will argue that although this way is effective but has narrow benefits, I believe that in a broad perspective, public awareness campaigns are essential.

Many people advocate that if there are more sports centres, the overall public health will increase. This is to say that a healthy mind thrives in a healthy body and to become physically fit sports activities are imperative because doing sports on a daily basis keeps are person healthy. For illustration, a report published by the World health organization states that people who are not habitual of doing sports and exercise are more prone to diseases like cardiovascular and diabetes. However, I believe that there are a plethora of diseases which requires proper planning by the health department to upgrade general public health.

One the other hand, there are some health conditions which cannot be elevated by sports activities and awareness of the general public is required such as some pandemics and endemic illnesses. In other words, diet and proper exercise along with improvement in living conditions increase the health of the nations. For instance, the United Nation in 2017 states that the main cause of many gastrointestinal diseases in developing countries is due to the poor sanitary conditions. Therefore, I believe that if people know the importance of hygiene and a balanced diet, it will surely suffice the cause and eventually results in a healthy nation.

To conclude, although sports facilities bring a small number of changes to public health, I believe that public education is must so that they can practice a healthy way of living.