People sleep less than before in many countries.

Why do people sleep less?

What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

In several nations, as compared to the past, sleep deprivation has become a common issue among people. This essay will argue that the main reason for this behaviour is excessive screen time and increased workload which ultimately gives rise to many life-threatening conditions and later it has a wide impact on society.

Firstly, the lack of sleep is mainly due to an increase in working hours. This is to say that in this contemporary era, people are working hard to make both ends meet, thus many individuals bring office work to home and awake till late hours to finish their work. Hence, the number of hours they get to sleep is reduced. Secondly, many people are glued to their mobile phones and laptops, they spend many hours socializing with their friends and family. For illustration, In the Daily Times of Pakistan, the survey-based report reveals that many people like to socialize at night.

On the other hand, on a personal level, the late-night awakening has drastic effects on health causing many diseases like insomnia, migraine, depression and high blood pressure. Those who do not get adequate sleep are more prone to these ailments, therefore have a bad impact on society. When a person does not take enough sleep it results in lack of concentration which can lead to much serious life-threatening condition. For instance, many road accidents are reported in which drivers fall asleep during driving due to which other family members and people on the road suffer a lot.

To conclude, late-night awakening is increased among serval individuals in many countries because of excessive use of electronic devices and increase in working hours, which cause several illnesses to the individual which eventually leads to several social issues.