Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

In the past, folks blindly trusted and agreed to everything taught and directed by educational institutions. However, today's society seems split on the idea of take-home assignments given to students. A part of the population thinks that it is essential and the other thinks that is unnecessary.

On one hand, some people believe that homework is a form of lazy teaching where schools expect students to focus on their academic knowledge even after school. People think that students should use the time after school for self-development such as sports, hobbies and extra-curricular activities. For instance, most baby boomer children used to go to school and play extensively after school. It is a belief that this made them well-rounded individuals.

On the other hand, there are some people in society are of the opinion that take-home assignments play an integral role in the education of the youth. They believe that a few hours in school is not adequate to acquire the essential information and knowledge required in life. Academics is of paramount importance to them and think that every other skill is either less important or can be acquired later in life.

In my opinion, as an attempt to appease both sides, schools should have longer hours. Furthermore, educational institutions should accommodate both curricular and extra-curricular experiences. This would completely remove the need to give homework. Additionally, this would also make it more convenient for working-class parents and guardians to pick up and drop their children to school before and after their work hours.

In conclusion, assignments are important but taking them home might not be. Both sides of the argument are valid and education boards should make an attempt to accommodate them all. Having said that, each student is different and will have varied needs and interests. It is up to the education system to cater to it and must give the liberty to the student to choose what interests them.