Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A significant number of people argue tertiary education to be an ideal path for a promising career, while others insist to join the workforce right after school. In my opinion, tertiary education is a pre-requisite for a successful career.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of joining the work force after high school such as, individuals become independent at a very young age and experience practical aspects of life. This is because when youngsters enter the job market soon, it becomes a source of a steady income for them at an early age. It enables them to pay for their own expenses such as food, healthcare and other utilities and. Since, they are responsible for managing their own expenses, they become more independent than their peers.

On the other hand, we are living in a competitive world where employees are selected not only on the basis of their experience but also educational qualifications. Undoubtedly, individuals who possess tertiary education would have more chances to get selected and eventually secure a successful career. In addition, tertiary education is very important in certain professions such as, medical and teaching. It is impossible to secure a career path as a doctor after school, as a formal tertiary education is necessary to become a part of the health industry. Similarly, a doctorate degree is a pre-requisite for becoming a university professor.

To recapitulate, there are various reasons for people to support joining the workforce sooner or later. However, in my point of view, I believe higher education is necessary to secure a promising career in order to stand out from others in the job market.