Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a job or continue their

education. While there are benefits to getting a job straight after school, I would argue that it is

better to go to college or university.

The option to start work straight after school is attractive for several reasons. Many young people

want to start earning money as soon as possible. In this way, they can become independent, and

they will be able to afford their own house or start a family. In terms of their career, young people

who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may progress more quickly. They will

have the chance to gain real experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen

profession. This may lead to promotions and a successful career.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. Firstly,

academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become

a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having the relevant degree. As a result, university graduates

have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those

with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and

sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do

not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to compete.

For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be successful in

their careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.