Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and

These days it is widely argued by some that home schooling is advantageous for the child's overall development, while another school of thought opine that it is absolutely essential for children to attend school. This essay shall analyze the advantages of both methods as well as provide an opinion.

To begin with, teaching children at home ensures flexibility in the curriculum. They are not scrutinized by any regulations and are free to teach the subjects best suited for the child. Secondly, some children need personal attention and cannot cope up with the fast pace and constant pressure at school as they need more time in understanding certain concepts. In such situation, home school is ideal as the course is tailored to fit each child's strengths and shortcomings. For instance, a child may be interested in learning computers and not history. Consequently, the teacher can focus on teaching the subject that excites the child and can provide a gist of the subject they are disinterested in. Therefore, children who find it difficult to thrive in school can benefit if taught at home.

On the other hand, formal education is the most sought option as it is well structured. Here the curriculum is governed by an education board who decides the holidays, exam dates, topics to be taught along with it's difficulty level. Being strictly regulated, all children have to follow the same format, thus minimizing disparity. Moreover, in the later stages, children are given the option to pursue or major in from a myriad range of subjects. For instance, in India after the tenth standard board exams, students can diversify into either arts, commerce, science or even home science based on their interests. As a result, schools are extremely important in helping a child to weigh his likes and dislikes and also inculcates the habit of following rules from an early age.

In conclusion, I believe children definitely need to go to school as they can be correctly assessed because examination is the common tool of measurement.