Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

People hold different views about whether the type of crime could depend on the punishments or we should consider various conditions and motivation of each crime. While there are several reasons to support the fixed punishments, I do believe that a flexible arrangement will be more reasonable.

On one hand, some people argued that the law should treat every citizen equally. As a result, the punishments of the same type of crime are supposed to be fixed. Moreover, if the judge gives different sentences to one kind of crime, it may be result in dirty bribe which want to make an influence on the judgment.

On the other hand, other people see this issue in a different way. Firstly, the bribe is the problem about government management, not about the law. Secondly, the Police departments punish people because of wrong things they have done, so that they could change their behaviors. The society are looking forward that they will devote theirselves to contribute societies. That's why we need to consider their different and complicated circumstances and why they make the crime. Finally, the harm of crime doesn't depend on their type, but on their seriousness. For example, there are two thieves. One has stole 200 yuan, while another has stolen 2000 yuan. How can you say they are supposed to receive the same punishment.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel the only logical conclusion is that we should think respective conditions and backgrounds of each criminal to decide what punishment to make even if the types are the same.