Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Household waste has become a global issue in the recent times. Some people are of the opinion that the best way to increase recycling is by authorities to come up with certain decrees. This essay strongly supports this view and it will explain with valid examples in the subsequent paragraphs.

Most of the People do not come with a sense of responsibility towards garbage collection and even prompt disposal. This is because there is no strict punishment against garbage which is recklessly thrown around or causing stench in the society due to not separating wet waste and dry waste. Therefore, the government must make strict laws for recycling household waste and if any individual does not follow the rules then the government could take legal action against them. This would certainly help in facilitating waste recycling. For instance, in line with the current new policy introduced by the government of India, if houshold waste is not segregated into wet waste and dry waste properly in dustbin then there is a penalty of five thousand Indian rupees. These kind of a strict laws would certainly make recycling household waste far speedier.

Furthermore, The governments main contribution can surely come in the form of educating, by holding large campaigns, free lectures etc., for its citizens to enlighten them about the health hazards faced due to rubbish rotting around without being recycled. Like for instance Kitchen garbage (biodegradable) could be separated from non-biodegradable waste. This way one could even start a vermiculture bin of his own to produce manure and compost waste. These kinds of large scale crusades can only be taken to a successful level only with the governments intervention.

Since it has of late become a global issue, which cannot be possibly on an individual basis. Therefore I choose to support the view that only the government with pragmatic solutions to tackle such a worldwide problem.

To conclude, recycling household waste is solely the responsibility of the government which seems to influence the people largely. The stringent measures adopted by the government would certainly make the world a cleaner and greener place.