Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Certain individuals have an opinion that most of the household garbage is not recycled and the only way to motivate people for recycling is by imposing laws. In my opinion, I do believe that by formulating rules and regulations.

At the outset, in today’s world people believe in the theory of “Use and Throw”. As the companies are producing cheaper quantity of products’ individuals have an opinion to utilize the goods and after that throw them in garbage bins. To be more precise, formulating stringent rules and regulations by the government, will make it compulsory for the society to indulge in recycling practices. To elucidate, people who purchase food items in plastic boxes throw the empty container once the food is finished. If strict rules are imposed, they will reuse the contained for other purposes. Moreover, the government should penalize people who do not follow the rules, as it is undoubtedly true the people obey laws only after heavy fines are imposed.

Additionally, instead of punishing people and formulating laws, government can take other steps to motivate people for recycling. Seminars and campaigns should be organised by non-voluntary organisations to educate people about the harmful affects of waste on not only the environment of the country but also on the human health. Furthermore, reward system should be organised by the government for people. Simply stating people who indulge in recycling and reusing strategy should be awarded monetarily or non-monetarily by the government.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that system of laws should be put in place by the authority to ensure that people recycle and reuse the household waste apart from educating people or motivating them.