Some people claim that public museums and art galleries are not needed because people can see historical objects and works of art using a computer. Do you agree with this opinion?

Although, today, we have several places of entertainment such as cinemas, amusement parks, aquariums and so on but Museums and art galleries are the part of society since civilization. Public Museums and art galleries are the major source of tourist attractions around the world. However, it is commonly believed by many that such attractions are not needed because we could see ancient objects and piece of art on computer. I completely disagree with their belief. This essay provides strong reasons for my disapproval.

First of all, no matters how advance our technology is, we could not have a look and feel of any thing on computer. This means computer generated 3D or 4D pictures could be a replica of historical objects but still the personal experience that we could have after visit a museum is incomparable and far better. For example, we could feel the texture of whale fish's bones which are kept on science museum in New york and this thing could not be achieved by computer graphics.

Another major reason for the need of museums and art galleries is that, they preserve the precious treasures for exhibition and display. They provide us with enormous amount of information that helps in research work and further developments. It is the least we could do to pay visit and gain some information about those valuable assets. Moreover, these museums provide great source of income to state in the form of tourism. In a research conducted by Harvard University in 2016, it was found that cities with large number of museums and art galleries have 50% more tourism income than other cities. Not only that, museums also provides employment opportunities to number of people like museum guides, artists, security personnel and so on.

To conclude, museums and art galleries are as essential as any other entertainment attractions like cinemas, water-parks. They share the historical information in a reliable way and offer an opportunity to personally see the ancient objects and art works. They are the great source of information and provide numerous benefits to the society in terms of income, employment and preserving the ancient heritage of our society.