Some people claim that what many people eat in western countries is unhealthy food and that their diet is getting worse. Critics say that these countries should change their diet

It is believed that the quality of the food that are served in western countries are getting worse these days, as well as the people's dietary pattern. Many people think that these western countries should change their diets into a healthier one, and the following essay will discuss it in details.

For a number of reasons, the foods that are consumed by western people are considered as unhealthy nowadays. Firstly, it is because most of the crops that are produced in western countries are using chemical fertilisers, such as pesticide or urea. Farmers are using these chemical ingredients to ensure that their crops are productive and resistant to pests. Many people do not notice that these items could have a serious effect on their health. Secondly, many western people prefer to purchase processed meats these days, because these canned foods have a longer expiry date. These foods are using some kind of additives that could trigger cancer or tumour.

Many people also believe that the dietary pattern of the western people is getting worse these days. As people get busier, they have lesser time to prepare healthy food. As a consequence, they prefer to purchase instant foods such as Mc Donald or Kentucky fried Chicken, which contain high cholesterol ingredients. And then, most of them have a habit of consuming soda and liquor. They do not realise that these beverages contain a high portion of sugar which is dangerous for the human's body.

In my opinion, I do agree that many western people are consuming unhealthy food and have a bad dietary pattern, though some of them choose to be more selective. I think the government should provide some solutions to resolve the issue. One of them might be by giving some rewards and incentives to farmers who choose to plant organic foods. Then, the government should also set some standards for fast food restaurants, to ensure that the food that served by them are healthy and safe.