Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

Are there more disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

In modern societies, citizens get the opportunity to choose whether to live in apartments or houses. There are different opinions about the benefits and drawbacks of these two types of domiciles, and this is the reason why they have their own fans.

Till a few decades ago, houses were the only place in which people can live. Those who prefer living in a house point out that no one can invade their privacy because neighbors live in farther distance. This accommodation is more convenient for pet lovers because they can easily keep their pets while some apartments are not pet-friendly. Also, people who enjoy green spaces prefer to live in houses. However, the maintenance expenses of a house are exorbitant because they should hire some workers for cleaning and gardening, so it is not a brilliant choice for low-income families. Another issue is providing safety. Having usually several entrances, houses are more in danger of burglary, especially when the owners are on a holiday.

Although apartments are one of the new options of living, they are so popular among people. Those who enjoy communicating with others believe that apartments are the best place for living because you can always meet your neighbors. Also, having a security guard at the main entrance, apartments are usually safer places for their residents. Another positive point about this accommodation is that the common spaces are always spotless, and people should just clean their own flats. On the other hand, there are some regulations that should be obeyed in apartments, being bothering for some individuals. For example, there are usually time and noise limitations when residents want to throw a party to prevent any disturbance for neighbors. Sometimes having a bad neighbor who does not pay the bills or respect the building rules can be one of the greatest problems of living in an apartment.

In conclusion, while selecting to live in a house or an apartment depends on people's preferences and needs, in my perspective apartments are more convenient places to live by considering our modern lifestyles.